5/09: CraigieBurner Report (NZ)

The 2009 version of the Scarpa Craigieburner was held on Saturday the 5th of September at both the Craigieburn Valley Ski Area and Broken River Ski Area.

The conditions were difficult with hard, wind packed snow and ice meaning skinning and skiing conditions were variable. This lead to some course changes with a lot more bootpacking than initially expected. The sunny weather made for a great day but tough work on the North facing slopes.

28 people completed the event, with a crowd of helpers and cheerleaders assisting and looking on. Most chose the race division. The race started from Koroheke Lodge and ploughed up the middle of Craigieburn Valley Ski Area. Reiner Thoni, a top ranked Canadian racer, set a cracking pace with the trailing pack following. Alexis Poilvert, Gena Sibaev and Jane Harper were the best of the rest as the race entered it’s first booth pack section. Another skinning section and long bootpack up Hamilton Peak saw the racers drop down into Alan’s Basin and traverse across to Kicker Ridge before starting a skin/bootpack to the top of the Ridge Tow. By this stage Sibaev and Poilvert had broken away from Harper in their race to catch Thoni. As they travelled along the ridge Poilvert caught Sibaev in some of the better racing of the day and flew off the final descent from the top of Hamilton Peak to the bottom of the bottom tow. However as fast as he was he couldn’t catch the Canadian. Harper comfortable kept her women’s title. As the first Craigieburn Valley or Broken River member she won the open champion trophy as well.

The lifts division saw a few keen competitors pound out the Craigieburn to Broken River loop in under and hour. Club veteran Andy Evans had a close tussle with Mike Barnes before relinquishing bragging rights. One of the highlights was two junior club members entering and completing the race.

The after match was well attended with tired legs, tall stories and grand prizes. Two pairs of Scarpa ski boots fell the way of two lucky competitors.

The organizers would like to thank Scarpa and Marmot, and Craigieburn Valley and Broken River Ski Areas for their support. They’d also especially like to thank the volunteers who assisted and competitors who turned up. We’re looking forward to 2010 already.

Race Men
1. Rainer Thoni 1hr 14mins 33seconds
2. Alexis Poilvert 1hr 18mins 4seconds
3. Gena Sibaev 1hr 20mins 22seconds

Race Women
1. Jane Harper 1hr 28mins 47seconds
2. Meriedi Liebner 3hr 2mins 30seconds

Rec Men
1. Mike Barnes 53mins 50seconds
2. Andy Evans 58mins 33seconds
3. Scott Couzins 1hr 10mins 32seconds

Envia un nou comentari

El contingut d'aquest camp es mantindrà privat i no es veurà públicament.
  • Allowed HTML tags: <a> <em> <strong> <cite> <code> <ul> <ol> <li> <dl> <dt> <dd>
  • Les línies i paràgrafs es trenquen automàticament.
  • Images can be added to this post.
  • Web page addresses and e-mail addresses turn into links automatically.

Més informació sobre opcions de format